tigerpants's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

THE update

It�s been a very long time since I posted anything here, but I have a solid excuse. I�ve been at work 12-14 hours a day, almost every day, for the past 3 weeks. The good news is that I got promoted. The bad news is I�m now in charge of some stuff, so I have to be at meetings all day, and then work all night. Eek!

The promotion is really a fantastic thing, though. The bosses took me aside and offered it to me on a Friday, and asked that I notify them of my decision on Monday. We were working over the weekend as well, so I had to ponder my decision while keeping quiet about the offer, which is hard for me, because I really wanted to ask people�s opinions of the job, and whether or not they thought I could do it. Honestly, though, there was hardly any decision to make. In order to take the promotion (and considerable raise), I had to accept a layoff, in which I�d lose my benefits and status. Even with this condition, I couldn�t possibly turn it down. They�d already made it clear that there would be no promotion as long as I was a staff employee. They didn�t have it in the budget to pay me more and continue my benefits. Combine that with the fact that nearly everyone in my department was CONVINCED we�d be laid off at the end of February, and you have only one option. I took it. And I was immediately thrust into the fire.

I started the job pretty much the moment I accepted. I was scared, because my promotion actually moved me up two notches, beyond some people that had been here longer, and proven themselves, but I was also determined to do the best job I could, and not let that slow me down. Unfortunately, nature was against me, as I came down with a pretty decent cold that day, that stayed with me for the rest of the week. On my second day of my new job, with a boss�s boss that had already pointed out that he didn�t know me at all, and was only hiring me because others had recommended me, I had to beg to be allowed to leave, because I couldn�t stay awake. I took work home, and actually did it. It�s been a rough ride since then, because I�ve been playing catch-up the whole time, but here in my last week, I think I�ve finally got it figured out. Better late than never, huh?

The extra bonus is that everyone I work with has been great. Really great. It�s a nice group of people that I work with, and they�ve been very kind, giving me moments to think, and allowing me to ask questions, and explaining some things to me before I ask. The boss�s boss I mentioned up there is an especially intimidating man, and has NO problem with telling you precisely how he feels about something, has been the biggest challenge, but again, it�s finally this last week that I�m mentally coping with him as well.

It�s kind of a shame that this is the last week, and not just because I�ll be poor. I�m finally figuring everything out this week, and I might be good at this job sometime next week.

So that�s what�s been happening with me. We�re working on the Oscar coverage nonstop, and it�s just insane how much work goes into it. As of next week, I�ll be unemployed, so if your dog needs walking or your kid needs a paper typed, be sure to give me a call. I�ll get to it after I do the last three weeks� worth of laundry. And maybe reward myself with a snazzy new iPod. If I can manage to give myself permission.

Earning money is fun. Spending money is scary. Especially when you�re unemployed.

� 2004-2005 Tigerpants Nation (Rebecca Gross)

9:50 p.m. - 2005-02-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dancingbrave
misterzero
morganzola
blofeld
slippin-m