tigerpants's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

CulpWatch 2004

There�s a particular hobby of mine that I�d like to share with you, gentle readers. As you may or may not know, I watch a great deal of television. Some would say it�s too much, but really, there�s no need for judging here. I watch just the right amount of television for me, though it may be considered too much for others. In my years and years of television viewing, I�ve become skilled in pointing out certain actors that reoccur constantly on the television dial. Sometimes these actors aren�t necessarily the best or brightest of their generation, but they are constantly cast, for whatever reason. Television without Pity refers to them as HiTG! (translated: Hey, it�s That Guy!), which is an accurate acronym, since that is what we all say when we spot these actors. I�d like to introduce you to my favorite HiTG!, and ask for you help in spotting him.

Gentle readers, I present to you Steven Culp. As you can see from his IMdb profile, he�s been a busy little actor, accruing guest appearances on every network for the past several years. He also has several recurring roles, including Webb, the CIA agent on JAG, and the very Republican Speaker of the House on West Wing. Last season, Mr. Culp had at least 4 recurring roles, as well as a number of guest spots, which lead to him possibly being on TV nearly every night of the week. This, gentle readers, has forced me to grant Mr. Culp the title �The Hardest-Working Man in Showbiz.� This year, Mr. Culp can still be seen on JAG and West Wing, as well as Desperate Housewives, where he has finally achieved cast member status.

And so I beg you, dear readers, to help me spot Mr. Culp throughout the television dial. There are no real rules. No need to limit yourself to primetime network television. Spot him on a cable home fixer-upper show? Let me know! Catch him on a rerun of some old but glorious SitCom? Pass that along! Most important, though, would be to determine what character he�s playing. Yet another hardass? Another military type? Or maybe he�s gone for a softer, more gentle character. Crucial info. We like to see Mr. Culp stretch.

Better yet, do you have a more interesting nominee for �The Hardest-Working Man in Showbiz� award? Someone you just keep seeing everywhere? It certainly doesn�t have to be a man, by the way. And no extras. It�s got to be someone that is cast in a role, even if it�s only one line. Meaning, they had to have been at least a day player. That�s reasonable, right? So, send me your ideas, and keep an eye out for the brilliant Mr. Culp. You won�t even have to try that hard. Trust me. He�s everywhere.

� 2004 Tigerpants Nation (Rebecca Gross)

11:54 a.m. - 2004-11-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dancingbrave
misterzero
morganzola
blofeld
slippin-m