tigerpants's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's done!

My latest project just finished up this week, aired, and is done. It�s done! Trust me, it�s done. There was some unnecessary doubt, but it�s done. On Monday I�ll go back to Dreaded Department and begin my 6-month stint as a typist. Today I began Desperate Scramble 2004: The Hunt for Decent Employment. Unfortunately, I could only find one job to apply for, but that�s a start, right? I even composed an interesting email/cover letter to send with my resume, but then the internet ate it. So I tried to recreate it, send it, and stop thinking about it before I drop-kicked my PC into next week. Rather, my work PC. I would never use such dreck at home. Is dreck not spelled that way? MS Word doesn�t like it. I don�t like a lot of things, but I don�t get to draw pushy red lines under them.

I just heard Mel Gibson on TV talking about Prop 71, and how he�s against stem cell research, and doesn�t understand why he should have to pay for something he considers unethical. Wah, Mel Gibson. Wah. Vote against it, if you feel that way, but if it passes, that�s how democracy works. Ya dig? You don�t get to call the governator and whine, just because you know him. Have you seen Maria Shriver lately? I�m stunned Arnold�s not covered in scars from being cut repeatedly by her cheekbones. You know Arnie�s going to just go along with this one, in an effort to prevent vicious wounds. So, again, Mel, that�s the way democracy works. You don�t like it, go back to Australia. I hear John Howard�s a big hit there. Except, not so much.

It�s been raining a lot in Los Angeles recently, and it�s been fantastic. Entertaining, but fantastic. I�m constantly stunned that native Angelenos fear weather, and are physically unable to drive in it. Beyond this, though, it turns out they�re afraid of the idea of weather. I was driving home from work one night, blithely talking on the phone to my dad, calmly driving behind some woman through a neighborhood, paying attention more than usual, because of the phone, when she suddenly stopped, right in front of me. She didn�t signal or anything, so I waited a moment, and then tooted my horn gently to remind her that roads are for driving, and she started up again, went over the gentle speed mountain, and then stopped again. She turned on her flashers, drove another few feet, and then pulled over. I actually wondered out loud to my dad that maybe she was ill. As I drove past her, she rolled down her windows and hurled a few insults at me, which I didn�t catch. I assume she was yelling about the phone, but honestly, I was driving nice and slow, and was nowhere near her. I can only assume that she�s a native, noticed the clouds forming in the sky, and was struck by a Potential-of-Rain panic attack. So. Bizarre. It�s just water, people. Really. If you�re careful, you�ll be fine. Look at Florida. Not so good with the voting, but just fine at driving in the rain.

I think it�s fairly well-known amongst my friends that I haven�t a shred of maternal instinct. Not a drop. So when the kids came marching through the office today for the annual Halloween parade, I admit it. I was unmoved. They�re just kids in costumes. Yes, some of the kids are cute. But, honestly? Some of them aren�t. Some of them are noisy. And drooly. And well, they don�t really like to wear the costumes for more than a couple minutes, so they get really, really grumpy. And scream. And now, there�s some kids running back and forth in the aisles next to our cubicles because the parents still have work to do, and don�t want to take their kids home and then come back to work, so the kids are just hanging out, running around, and hey, kids are cute, so no one will mind, right? Oy. Take your children home. I don�t have a lot of work to do today, but this is not a playground.

Now, the lady who brought in her dog last year dressed up as the devil? THAT was cute. Adorable. I gushed. I pointed. AWWWWW!

My mom is still learning to cope with the fact that she will one day have a granddog.

� 2004 Tigerpants Nation (Rebecca Gross)

5:46 p.m. - 2004-10-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dancingbrave
misterzero
morganzola
blofeld
slippin-m