tigerpants's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I LOVE that song. I swear.

Seriously? Ozomatli�s cover of April 29, 1992 by Sublime is genius. Absolutely genius. I love it. I�m not great with music. I tend to �discover� artists everyone else has been listening to for years, and then when I discover them, I buy like one of their CDs and then never visit them again. I�m especially bad about that. I�m all �I love BLAH! BLAH�s music is the BEST!� And then I buy one whole CD, and my love endeth forever. My secret shame? I�ll buy anything George Michael makes. Even the most recent CD, which I listened to exactly twice, realized it was kind of lame, and put it away. But now I own it. Whoo. Because I am a loyal fan.

But anyway. Sublime. I was given their CD by a friend back when I was working at Universal in Orlando, which was easily like 8 or 9 years ago, probably about a year after their self-titled came out. I loved it, but once again, I almost never listened to it. And then I moved to LA, where it was all over the radio. They�re better about promoting local music out here, and the LBC was well-represented on KROQ. Then Sublime broke up, and became, sort of, the Long Beach Dub All-Stars, or something like that. (Honestly, I wasn�t joking when I said I was bad at music.) (You�d never know I was in band for 10 years and actually like music,) But KROQ continued to play Sublime, which was awesome, though they did play some cuts that weren�t my favorite, but whatev. Fast forward to about 5 months ago, I think it was, when I first heard about the Sublime tribute album. And then they started playing the Jack Johnson cut on the radio, which was cool, but, y�know, all Jack Johnson-ish, laid back, and not quite what Sublime was about for me. Here�s my other secret. I don�t like other people�s music. I can�t do mix CD swaps. It makes me crazy. I just sit there wondering why anyone would listen to any of this crap. For some reason, remakes of fairly recent songs bug me in the same way. I feel like if the original was good, leave that shit alone. You know? But the Jack Johnson cut pulled at me, and snickered at me a bit. It knew I kind of liked it, but I didn�t want to say. So then I was listening to the iTunes New Music podcast, where they featured the Sublime tribute album, and played the What I Got track. By the way � I may have a podcast problem. I love Nightline, and now it�s a podcast. That�s just wrong, man. I can feel all cool and shit, like I know what�s happening in the world, just by listening to my iPod? No one wants that. It�s a little twee. Anyway, back to the story.

I originally visited iTunes this evening to check out the Hustle and Flow soundtrack, since I just saw the movie this evening, and really dug the music. I never purchase at the first perusal, though, so I moved on, and started searching for some other stuff I heard in the new music podcast. And then I finally remembered about the silly tribute album. It actually took me a while to find it, as you don�t get it when you search for Sublime. You have to search for Sublime tribute. Bastards. Anyway, the album? She is now mine. And to bring this puppy full circle, the Ozomatli cut rules. But then, they usually do, don�t they?

I�m seriously asking. I love Ozomatli. I can spot them in like 5 notes. Now ask me if I own any of their albums. But I think you already know the answer.

I also really like the new Mars Volta song. Don�t own that one either. And the Black Eyed Peas song, which is sampled from something else, but I don�t have a clue.

Someone stop me.

In more personal news, I left the bad job at the old company, and am now desperately trying to put my reel together before I leave for NY on Thursday. I finally got all my stuff dubbed to mini DV, so that�s a huge step one out of the way. Now if I could just find someone to help me with that mythic creature, the Final Cut Pro. Also, from NY I�ll be heading to Florida to see my family, since, as I reported last time, my dad�s sick. I�m glad I�ll have the chance to see them, even though I doubt I�ll be much help. I�ll be there for 8 days, which is terrifying, but my mom and dad have both already pointed out that they�re both really looking forward to having me there, and my dad even said that he was glad to be able to come home from the hospital and wake up to my face, which is a very nice thing to say. They�re old and goofy, and hard to cope with sometimes, but they love me, and that means a lot.

It was a good day, y�all. I ended up waking up at 8 because I was all stressed about all the shit that needed to get done, but I got through a bunch of it, and will be able to get through a bunch more tomorrow, so it�s all good.

And I bought the hottest pair of olive green peep-toey shoes today. They�re gorgeous. I have no idea how to do pictures, but google Nine West Razz. They�re olive green. They�re awesome with my raspberry toenail polish right now. If only I can figure out some way to wear them in NY without weeping.

Dear Ozomatli, thanks so much for inspiring this lengthy post. Maybe I�ll buy Signs. See! I know the names of albums! I just don�t buy them.

That is the name, right?

� 2004-2005 Tigerpants Nation (Rebecca Gross)

12:43 a.m. - 2005-07-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dancingbrave
misterzero
morganzola
blofeld
slippin-m