tigerpants's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Somebody Stop Me

Ok, so the only way I can keep myself from spending money is to simply not leave the house. That�s a little sad, right? But remarkably effective. The only thing I can possibly buy from my house is pizza. Let�s just not bring up that little devil, the internet, shall we? We�ll just not let the other part of my brain in on that secret. I mean, the credit cards are nearly paid off, for heaven�s sake. Let�s just leave them that way, shall we? Pipe down! There are no lambs.

What�s the deal with all the earthquakes? And why have I not felt a single one? It�s great, but weird. I�m very delicate and sensitive. You�d think I�d be all over these things, worried about the end of the world. As it turns out, not so much. Oh, and as a side note to Mother Nature � this is not a challenge. Just so�s you know.

I�ve embarked on a quest to find the perfect pair of jeans. It�s a difficult and challenging path that I travel. I keep buying jeans, wearing them around the house a little bit, and then returning them. Is that weird? Don�t answer that. So far, I haven�t found a pair I just love. I did buy a pair today that may be keepers, only because they�re obscenely soft, and they�re a good length. They�re a bit slacks-y for my taste, but the softness factor may win me over. So far, Old Navy jeans have been the best, but they wear out so damn fast. I want my jeans to last! Is that SO MUCH to ask of denim? I think not.

I also returned an insanely expensive purse that I bought at the Nordstrom sale. I liked it, but it wasn�t PERFECT, and for that amount of money, it really should have been. It should have gotten up off it�s ass and cleaned something, is what I�m saying. Maybe put the dishes away, or gone out and gotten a job. One of us should have one.

In sad news, my aunt passed away this past week, and the memorial was today. I couldn�t get back to Florida, being poor and all, but my brother kindly passed his phone around so I could talk to family. One of my cousins even volunteered to come up to NY from Philly to visit me when I�m there in July. I thought that was nice, since we�re not super-close.

And now for the movie review portion of this entry. Since my last entry, I saw Batman Begins, Return of the Sith (for the second time, so we�ll be skipping that one), The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, Mr. And Mrs. Smith, and Madagascar. I�m a menace, and I must be stopped. Seriously. I had to turn down a trip to the movies this weekend with my friend C because I�d seen every movie. But let�s get to what I thought.

Batman Begins was WAY better than I thought it would be. I was so worried it�d just be awful. They could have gone in a really bad direction with it (see the last several versions), but they didn�t. I really enjoyed the way the story was told, and the actors telling it. Michael Caine was awesome. Liam Neeson and Gary Oldman switched their usual parts. Katie Holmes didn�t slouch! It really worked, and I thought it was a great complement to the Michael Keaton version. I hope they�re able to do another, as I�m very curious to see how this director tells the Joker�s story. Maybe correctly this time?

All I have to say about Pants is that it was cute, and that those girls are all tremendous actors, and I hope they all have great careers. I was a bit removed from the film, though, as the woman sitting next to me during it had brought her own dinner to the theater, in the form of a giant Baja Fresh bag, and then began, well, just blubbering, about 5 minutes in, and never stopped. Every time a scene would start to tear at my cold little stone heart, the woman next to me would just gasp in pain, and I�d giggle. So, yeah, I wasn�t as wrapped up in the movie as I could have been.

Mr. And Mrs. Smith? Holy crap, those are easily the HOTTEST humans on the planet right now. What a fun movie! I really enjoyed it. I would have liked to see their mad murdering skills a bit more, and the massive body count a bit lessened, but it�s fine. I�m not sure we had as much character development as we could have. Clearly, all the money was spent on explosives. Maybe they had t-shirts made. �I got killed by Brad and Angelina!�

That�s the update for now. My mom is coming in on Wednesday to visit. We will probably eat insane amounts of food and watch lots of movies. I�m also taking Mom to The Viper Room on Friday night, as my friend�s band has a gig there, and Mom wants to see what the fuss is about. If you guys are around Friday night, and enjoy live, loud, rock music, I�d love for you to come out. Booking a gig at the Viper is HUGE, and my friends could use lots of bodies there to show support. June 24, 8.45 PM. Be there, or, well, you know. Meet Mom! She�ll be rocking out, I�m sure.

That�s it from the Land of Slack. For now.

� 2004-2005 Tigerpants Nation (Rebecca Gross)

11:59 p.m. - 2005-06-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dancingbrave
misterzero
morganzola
blofeld
slippin-m