tigerpants's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What a Week!

It�s been quite a week. Or has it been two? Oh, who�s keeping count? Let me try to bring you up to speed a bit.

Last week was the last week of production on our current project. We had tons of notes to deal with in the early part of the week, as well as the usual panic of making sure everything gets done. But by Wednesday, the last of the clearances were rolling in, and things were looking up. We still hadn�t heard anything from the subject of our show, and Wednesday night, we mastered the thing, and went home. Thursday, all hell broke loose. Late in the afternoon, we got notes from the subject, essentially requesting that we remove a person from the show. They tried to be diplomatic about it. The notes seemed very calm and polite. The problem was that the show was already finished. In the can. And it was Thursday. The show was airing on Sunday. So quick meetings were called, phone calls were made, and a decision was made as to how much of the notes we could actually do at that point. It turned out that it wasn�t our show that was the problem, so much as the person who was the subject of the notes, but by that point on Thursday, there�s only so much that can be done. So, Thursday evening, my boss stayed at work to start on some of the notes while I took off to see Star Wars (more on that later), and then we met back up at the office 7.30 AM Friday morning to see what else we could do.

On a side note, 7.30 AM is really, really early, when you�re accustomed to scrambling to work by 10.30. Anyway, it turns out my boss had done most of the work the night before, and we only had one section to revise that morning, which we were able to do by about 12.30, and turn the show back in for Quality Control nonsense. Now, you�d think, at this point, that we�d be done. Wouldn�t you? But no. Later that afternoon, we got notes back from the QC people saying that we still hadn�t fixed whatever nonsensical technical glitches they�d found in the first QC. Back when we first finished the show. Remember that? Anyway, we had to get these things fixed before the end of the day, since they apparently didn�t bother to send us the notes from the first QC. So I started scrambling around to try and find a bay to fix this stuff in, but since it was conveniently after 4.30, the bays were empty for the next hour, so I was going to have to wait until editors started coming in for the night shift. Whoo. The head of the Post department kept trying to tell me that I needed to schedule time in the bay to be sure the time would be mine, even though he�d already told the producer in that bay that I�d be using the first 15 minutes. I kept telling him that I was certain I needed even less time than that, but whatever. So the editor was a half-hour late, and when we finally did the fixes, I was sitting there for a good solid 2 minutes. Even the editor was more than a little annoyed on my behalf, since I had to wait around all day to fix this stuff. Seriously, one of the notes involved the tone and bars at the top of the show. Now, I don�t know all that much about the technical aspect of production, but seeing as how the tone and bars never see the light of day, why do they need to be CORRECT???!!!!! I was SO TIRED at this point. I�d been at the movie the night before til late, and then when I got home, I couldn�t sleep at all because I was worried about the stupid notes, and then I had to wait around all day to fix the flipping bars and tone, since the stupid QC people couldn�t have sent us the notes the first time around, and it�s just stupid bars and tone, and what the hell difference does it make ANYWAY? I was completely incoherent by the time I left, and ended up having to pass on a friend�s birthday party, which is usually quite the blowout every year, because I was so tired and pissed off and would have been dreadful company, if I�d been awake at all. Oy.

So yeah, the show aired yesterday, and we haven�t heard a peep from anyone about it. Or rather, I haven�t. Maybe someone has. My mom liked it, so that�s something. Moms are cool like that.

PS � Mom�s coming into town on the 22nd, and wants to go to San Francisco while she�s here. Any tips? I�ve never been.

Ok, so anyway, on to the TV and movies. First off, Star Wars. My general comment to people is that it�s not as bad as the first two, and that the effects really are gorgeous, and it�s interesting to see all the stories come together. And yeah, that�s it. Also? The direction is APPALLING, but it�s still better than the writing, which would have made me cry, if I weren�t already dead inside. There were some really nice moments were everything sort of fell into place. Like, you know these are all decent actors, and they�re really trying, but they just have so little to work with, so it�s a bit of a mess. But they want it to be good, and so do you, so you go with them a bit, and it pays off. I, like many others my age, have so much love for these films, regardless of the animated dreck they�ve become. I still want to love them, and want to believe in them, and there were some pieces of this film that really allowed that to happen, far more than the last two. But when your pivotal lead character, the one we�re all here for, can�t quite sell his decent into true evil, because he�s still just a weensy bit petulant, it gets hard to cling so much to the love.

And for heaven�s sake, who sleeps in a nightgown with beads around the arms that will GRIND into your arms while you sleep? Who does that? Hot chicks who are just there to be hot, and not really DO anything anymore? I guess. Remember when we were all kind of happy Padme was a bit of a badass, because we could see where Leia got it from? Yeah, that�s not so evident anymore.

Also, I watched the Enterprise series finale, and was just disgusted. I mean, yeah, it�s nice to see Riker and Troi again. Really. Love the characters, love the actors. They always look like they�re having fun doing this stuff, unlike many of the other cast members from other Star Trek series. They never seem to begrudge their association with this stuff. But honestly. Did you have to give so much screen time to two characters whom, frankly, have already HAD THEIR TIME? It was just so cobbled together, and bad, and weird, and awkward. With an utterly wasted death. What a waste of the cast�s time and energy.

Ummm, what else? CSI�s finale, by Se�or Tarantino, was lots of fun, and very well done. I enjoyed that. And what�s going to happen to Eric Close and Enrique Murciano on Without a Trace? Yikes! And seriously, there aren�t words to describe my joy upon Lena Olin�s glorious return to Alias. Whatever she cost, she was worth every penny. Since the finales of Alias and Lost are this week, we�ll withhold any further comment til later. We�re about to head into summer, where I can catch up shows I missed first time around. Any recommendations?

� 2004-2005 Tigerpants Nation (Rebecca Gross)

5:15 p.m. - 2005-05-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dancingbrave
misterzero
morganzola
blofeld
slippin-m