tigerpants's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

VMVO

Whew! I just read the recap for last week�s Veronica Mars, and now I�m more psyched than ever for Tuesday night�s revelatory episode, where Veronica�s rapist and druggist (or are they the same person?!?) will be revealed. Man! It�s a fun show, y�all, and I haven�t been this excited about a TV show in quite a while. It�s a sort-of sad thing, but I do love TV so, and it makes me happy when fun TV is back on for my viewing enjoyment. I don�t even mind the summer break if I just remind myself that all those happy little well-paid writer types are breaking stories and writing fun scripts for the upcoming season. It�s fun to have something fluffy and exciting to look forward to! Yay!

Saturday night at Casa Fishtibuns was quite the shindig. There�s always plenty of food and drink, and people to talk to that I haven�t seen in a while. There�s nothing quite like drunken antics on a Saturday night to really bring the weekend together.

I didn�t make it to any movies this weekend, which kind of bums me out, but I did do ALL my laundry, which is good to have out of the way, and I did some cleaning, which makes it easier for me to pretend to be a neat person for another week. On the surface, I like to think that I keep a tidy home, but deep down, I know I�m barely toeing the line of civility. My apartment has no visible filth anymore. There should be some sort of props for that. Actual sanitary counters? You may be asking too much, my friend.

I did make it to a movie on Thursday evening, called Crash, and no it�s not the one with James Spader. It�s a new movie with quite a cast, including Sandra Bullock, Don Cheadle, Brendan Fraser, and even Ludacris (LUUUUDAAA in da hizzy!), that focuses on race relations in Los Angeles by using these interweaving plotlines. Ooh! I forgot! Deanna Troi�s in it, too! Right on, Deanna Troi. Anyhoo, its�s a really interesting film that forces you to think a bit. It may not be everyone�s cup of tea, but it does use just the right amount of humor and drama to convey it�s message, without being too heavyhanded. Sounds like a typical movie review, huh? Honestly, if you get a chance, go see it. I thought it was fascinating. Also, that night, my friends had left their headlights on in their car, so I felt like a good person because I had jumper cables in my car, so I left with a warm fuzzy, after saving them from spending the night in the parking garage. Ok, it probably wasn�t that big a deal, but you always feel good when you can help someone, even in a small way. That�s time #2 for the Blue Bomber and jumping a fellow car in need. I haven�t named the new car yet, so I�m trying out Blue Bomber. What do y�all think? Does it fit?

The next two nights I�ll be at work a bit late, as I�m covering a night edit Monday night, and then starting the night edit Tuesday night. (Yikes! What will I do about my buddy Veronica?! Will I make it home in time?) Wednesday night I�m having dinner with a friend of mine, and then I�m editing again Friday and Saturday night. I get a little snitty when I have to edit at night repeatedly. I don�t think it�s totally ok for senior members of our team to hog all the day sessions just because they�re senior. I�m not completely down with that thinking. But I think mostly I�m just snitty from the title cut I took for this show, and all that comes with it. I�m still thinking I won�t agree to do another show with them, as I think I�m selling myself a bit short here, but I�m concerned about the ramifications. Fortunately, I have nearly an entire month to consider pondering it.

My mom called this evening to let me know that Dad has made it back to Florida safe and sound, though not all the way home. He expects to arrive home midday tomorrow, at which point I suspect he�ll drive home and sleep for the next 8 days. My aunt (his sister) is very ill right now, so he may have to head down south to visit her, but I hope he�s able to rest up before doing so. He forgets he�s no spring chicken!

Current iTunes song total: 2021. It�s possible I have a problem. And that�s not all my CDs. I�ve been somewhat selective. When I have dinner with my friend on Wednesday, I�m sure we�ll discuss music, and I�ll probably come home and buy more. At the party Saturday night, a friend asked me how much of my iPod was devoted to showtunes. I�ve done an album count, based solely on actual musical theater albums, with no movie soundtracks included. The showtune album tally? 30. That doesn�t seem like that much, does it? I did include some shows for which I bought the movie version of the soundtrack, and also anthologies, because counting each individual show from those might have been embarrassing. Perhaps next time, I�ll bring you some other music update from iTunesland. I�m still shopping around for a recurring theme. Because it can�t be me just whining every week. Can it?

Take care, y�all. Have a good Monday! I�ll be sleeping in!

� 2004-2005 Tigerpants Nation (Rebecca Gross)

1:01 a.m. - 2005-05-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dancingbrave
misterzero
morganzola
blofeld
slippin-m