tigerpants's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nonstop News

On MSNBC, there�s a small picture-in-picture thingee so you can keep an eye on the smokestack on the Sistine Chapel, in case there�s a new pope. This is fascinating to me. I mean, I get how a new pope is news. Really, I do. It�ll have a huge impact on a very old religion throughout the planet for what could easily be the next few decades. But is it possible that they could just tell us what happens when it happens? I mean, do we need to see it 24/7? It strikes me as a little odd. Not a huge big deal, but a little odd.

Seriously, while I�m sitting here watching the news, some smoke just came out of the smokestack. It�s black smoke, so no new pope. Sorry, y�all. Better luck tomorrow.

This past weekend I headed to Vegas with a couple of friends to get out of town for the weekend. It was a very calm, peaceful trip, with no wild behavior or crass actions. It took 8 hours to get there on Friday, which was a mess, and then 6 hours to drive back on Sunday. I�ve never understood traffic. I mean, it�s a big open highway! Just keep driving! On Saturday I sat by the pool for a few hours and read and napped. It was something I�d never do at home � just sit around and read. I�d feel bad about wasting the time. Certainly there�d be things I�d need to do. But when you�re out of town with no access to cleaning products or your laundry, you do with your time what you can. It�s nice to take the time to remind yourself that life goes on if you don�t get the laundry done every weekend, even when you have the time to do so. Fortunately, the weather took a turn this week, so all the clothes I wore last week wouldn�t work this week anyway. That helps.

I�m still having a bit of drama at work, but I�m trying to not let it get to me. I�m also trying to not complain at work as much, and see if having a better attitude helps me at all. I�ll only be here for another month, which is not that long a time, and I�ve already decided to not take another position here doing the same thing, if offered. I�m really, really miserable, but it�s partially my own doing, so I�m trying not to dwell and just accept. It won�t last forever, and I know that, so there�s no point in giving it constant thought.

My father�s threatening to try to head out this week again. Whatever. I�ll keep y�all posted on that front.

� 2004-2005 Tigerpants Nation (Rebecca Gross)

11:20 a.m. - 2005-04-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dancingbrave
misterzero
morganzola
blofeld
slippin-m