tigerpants's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My father, the hero

Sunday was really going pretty well, y�all. I was enjoying it. I slept much better than I did Friday night, even though I had an hour nastily snatched from my clutches. I got up a little later than I wanted, but not much. I spoke to my friend M and we made plans for the afternoon. I got up, got dressed, and headed over to a mall to burn a little time before meeting M. And then my brother called. He told me he was just about to head over to pick up my dad�s car from the airport. I asked if he�d left yesterday or today, so I�d have an idea of when he was arriving. My brother then said �oh, you haven�t heard?� And that�s when it happened. Y�all, my dad is not coming out here. Again. He didn�t even make it out of the state this time. The electrical system on the plane went out, or something, and he has to have it repaired, and then fly back home. He probably won�t be able to leave til Wednesday. And then he has to return home, and then we�ll see. I think this actually happened on Saturday, but I�m not sure, because my father still hasn�t called me. He never called me to tell me he was coming out here. I had to ask. And then he never told me when he was leaving. And then he never called me to say he�d left. And now he hasn�t called to tell me he won�t be here. My bro said that he�ll probably have to pay around $500 to have the plane repaired. But he wouldn�t pay for the $20 cab fare into the city from the airport he�s at, so he�s not staying at a hotel. He�s totally that cheap. So I�m guessing he�s not calling me because he doesn�t want to pay the long distance charges.

Honestly. I don�t know what to say. My mom says I should feel bad for him. That he so wants to fly out here, to be able to say he did that. But I really don�t think he should take these chances with my birthday. Is that wrong? I mean, it�s always been sort of a policy in my family that someone always comes out and spends my birthday with me. I�ve always appreciated it, and thought it was very kind of them to do so. And yes, I kinda take it for granted. But when you say you�re going to be here, can you, y�know, just get on a damn plane and come here? Can you not pack up the Cessna again, for the second year in a row, and once again, NOT make it? Can you try to take your fun cross-country trip in the middle of the summer when the weather�s nice, and there are no time constraints? I don�t know. I just think it�s sort of self-centered. Is that weird?

My dad loves me. I know that. And I know he�s not doing this on purpose. But it still irks me just the same.

In other news, the VP of my department came over and offered me the position I�d mentioned in my last post. I�m stalling for now, but I seriously think I don�t want it. And that�s just it. I don�t WANT it. I do probably NEED to take it, but I don�t WANT it. See?! I am 12 years old.

Is anyone else watching that Grey�s Anatomy? I think I like it. The lead girl has something odd going on with her mouth, but I like the cast, even if poor Katherine Heigl has to play another Isabel. The writing isn�t too desperately heavy-handed for a medical show, but the character stereotypes are all in place, which is annoying. Does everyone have to play to type? Ugh. Does this show really need it�s own Peter Benton, Deb Chen, and Doug Ross? I think not.

In more positive news, I got flowers today! Yay! I LOVE flowers. They really cheer me up. Thanks, Mom and Dad!

� 2004-2005 Tigerpants Nation (Rebecca Gross)

2:55 p.m. - 2005-04-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dancingbrave
misterzero
morganzola
blofeld
slippin-m