tigerpants's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SICK! (and tired...)

Apparently, I�m now The Girl Who Is Always Ill. Yay. On Monday night, I took the last dose of my infection medication. On Tuesday morning, I woke up with a fever, feeling like hell. I�ve decided the two are unrelated (in my professional medical opinion), as the fever isn�t very high, and I have other, glorious symptoms as well. Such as a throat that can�t stop being dry, and a cough that has a wonderfully raspy, hacky quality to it.

This is just ridiculous. Can I please get one carefree, pain-free day while I�m not working? I got a call today to ask me to come back to work at the old company, at my old rank, but I did manage to convince them to pay me at my new rate, so that�s good news. I go back on Monday. I think it�s entirely likely that I will wake up on Monday feeling fantastic, but not a moment before that. This just blows. The last time I had 2 weeks off, over a year ago, I spent the entire two weeks dealing with the Great Flood of 2003, which capped off The Worst Year Of My Life So Far. I guess I�m just not destined to completely enjoy 2 full weeks in a row of vacation.

I�m really pretty furious about this whole nonsense, but I�m trying not to dwell. I really, really don�t want to be the person who is always sick. How I managed to catch something while being at home all the time and washing my hands religiously because of the infection will, I�m sure, remain a mystery to me. I�m just so tired of feeling not right. Not myself. Ill. I was so relieved when I found out about the infection, and then when the medication started to work. I felt so much better! And I had nothing to do! Sigh.

Also, I�m a little freaked out about taking a job at my old level. I�m a little frustrated that people are calling to offer me these jobs in the first place, as though they didn�t even bother to look at my resume, and more frustrated with myself for feeling like I have to take it. But, the positive side is that I�ll be paid pretty darn well to do some fairly easy work, though I do expect to have to work a bit harder this time, since I�m freelance now. But if I�ll be doing the same work I did the last time I worked on a project like this, it won�t be that bad. I�m being hired on to be the admin, basically, doing clearance paperwork, and keeping track of things. I�m what you might call grossly overqualified for such work, but it�ll be easy, I hope, and not very stressful. And it�s only for 5 weeks. I was also offered a position today for a 10-week job, but I didn�t think it would be a good idea to take such a long job at a level I don�t want to be working at, especially when it�s very likely they wouldn�t match my old rate. So I feel like I did the right thing. Mostly. I guess.

It�s just no fun here in my apartment right now. I�m sitting here, and if I stay still and quiet, I don�t cough, which is nice, but I can still feel that my throat isn�t right. Of course, the never-ending car alarms going off outside don�t really help. There are times when I truly loathe living here, but I�m not sure why I think it would be different anywhere else. But check back with me tomorrow, because it�s brown pill week, when I�m always moody. Just as an aside, do you know what I was doing the last brown pill week? Fighting with a cold.

Gah. Now it�s tradition. What a crap tradition.

� 2004-2005 Tigerpants Nation (Rebecca Gross)

11:10 p.m. - 2005-03-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dancingbrave
misterzero
morganzola
blofeld
slippin-m