tigerpants's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Recovery

This weekend I worked a lot of hours. A LOT. I left for work at 8 AM on Saturday, and got home about 8 PM. On Sunday I left for work at 6.15 AM, and got home at 4.15 AM. Granted, I wasn�t working the ENTIRE time on Sunday, but it was a really long day, and I�m so very glad it�s over. I didn�t actually work that hard this time, which was kind of nice. I was sort of on the periphery of the action, which allowed me to see much more of what was happening this time. Last time, I was really bogged down with brand new software and a huge amount of effort, so I didn�t see anything. This time was a great opportunity to walk around a bit, see what other people do, and check things out. It really wouldn�t have been so bad if it hadn�t been 8 billion hours long.

The best part of the day was of course, when it was over, and we got into one of the after parties. We saw a few celebrities, though not as many as I�d have liked. Jamie-Lynn DiScala and her husband were at the table right in front of us. The table in front of them featured Drea De Matteo and her kinda skeevy boyfriend, making out like there was no tomorrow. Eve was also at the table, chatting nicely with everyone that walked over to her. I also spotted Wyclef Jean and James Cromwell at one point, though sadly they weren�t together. Not a celebrity smorgasbord, but something for everyone, I think.

This was the first show where I was able to skip out on some of the lower-level stuff, and stick to more producing-type duties, and I have to say I enjoyed it. Primarily, I have this nasty sense of entitlement that tells me I�ve earned this moment of glory, and to not be bothered by the slaving peons beneath me. Also, I�m appallingly lazy. Desperately so. The lengths I�ll go to avoid doing actual work might be considered work to some, but well worth the effort in my opinion. As I said previously, I got actual compliments for my work, which really boosted my confidence, and that�s the best part of all. However, the sad truth is that for me, guilt always wins over laziness. I can�t just sit there and watch people working hard and not help them. So, at the end of the evening on Sunday, I helped load a huge pile of crap into a few peoples� cars, and that assuaged the guilt. A bit. I still worry that I didn�t offer to help enough, and secretly, everyone�s talking about that jerk around the corner that�s too good for busywork. Yes, these are the things I worry about. In my defense, I spent MOST of the day Friday begging for work to do. I finished all my assigned projects by 2.30 PM, and just kept sending out emails asking if I could help anyone. Everyone declined, so I sat around quite a bit. But I did try!

Unfortunately, with all the work, I still don�t have anything else to share. No updates on Culpwatch 2005, no iPod, no end to the neighbors playing with the dog. Oh! I did find out today that my father intends to fly out here again for my birthday. Oy. I wonder when he was going to tell me?! My mom was supposed to come out over that time, but now I believe she�s decided not to, as Mom obeys the �no-two-parents-at-the-same-time� rule. My brother mentioned that he might want to come out as well, so we�ll see what happens. Apparently, the 31st birthday will be bigger than the 30th. Hopefully, it�ll be a bit better as well. But as I am notorious for lousy birthdays, we�ll just have to see how this one falls apart. My mother would also understand if I wanted to plan an outing with my friends for my birthday, but my father wouldn�t, so there�s that as well.

Ok, that�s my boring update for the day. Eventually, more exciting things will happen, and you can bet I�ll tell you all about them. I promise.

� 2004-2005 Tigerpants Nation (Rebecca Gross)

5:35 p.m. - 2005-01-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dancingbrave
misterzero
morganzola
blofeld
slippin-m