tigerpants's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Happy Hanukah!

Happy Hanukah, everyone! Has it been a good one so far for you? It�s working for me. On the first night of the Festival of Lights, my friend M took me to see a screening of Vera Drake. When we got over to the lot, we learned that they�d been unable to secure a print of the film. Huh. That�s the kind of thing that�s really going to hold up a screening. So we took off, and just got some dinner. It was great sitting around, catching up, gossiping, and eating. What more could you ask for? I also had the opportunity to give M her wedding bowl, and she really liked it, so that�s good news. I always feel a little guilty getting people something that�s not from their registry, but it�s a handmade wooden bowl! It�s pretty! And handy! And a bowl! You can put snacks in it!

Last night I ran home to catch the newest episode of Lost. It was a fun one! Way to go, Javi. Not a lot of plot advancement, but it�s always good to get a little more backstory, and find out why Jack�s mom was so pissed, and insisted that Jack go to Australia to find his dad. I�m still trying to figure out the names of the characters, and why some are named for historical characters. Anyone know? I�m a bit slow when it comes to these things. I�m totally creeped out by the abduction of Claire. EW! What do they want with the pregnant girl? And is she really carrying Rosemary�s Baby? Yick!

Tonight is my company�s big holiday party. These things have a tendency to go either very well or very poorly. Last year�s was pretty fun, surprisingly, with good food and free-flowing alcohol. I�m not a tremendous drinker, but I do appreciate the gesture. It�s always entertaining to me to see what people wear to these parties, and how they behave. It�s as though the whole party environment gives them permission to bring out their inner assholes. People get absolutely wasted and go bonkers. Relationships begin and end all on the same night. Executives get into fistfights. It�s totally bizarre.

This weekend I have no big plans yet, though I do hope to catch Ocean�s 12, as it just looks like a ton of fun. My mom emailed yesterday to tell me to keep my eyes peeled for a package that may arrive on Saturday, so that�s something to look forward to. Mom got me some Hanukah presents while I was home, so I wasn�t expecting anything else, but I�m just shallow enough to be thoroughly pleased about random presents.

This past Tuesday we had the first show in our cavalcade of awards shows for this season. The Grammy noms were announced, and we had to be in at 6 AM in order to cover it. Next week, I have to be in at 2.30 AM one day to cover the Golden Globe awards, and then I get a little break til next January 11. I�ve decided that covering the nominations announcements is a little silly. Is anyone up at that hour to watch? I really don�t think so. Everyone that really cares gets the press release, and the rest of the world can read about it on the internet moments later. It�s a tremendous amount of work, time, and money to put into a show that doesn�t really seem worthwhile at all. We could probably put that money towards our Red Carpet coverage, which I do think some people watch.

In talking with a lot of my friends that got laid off last week, many seem pretty ok with it. I mean, they�re not happy about it, but it�s fine. It�s the kick in the pants they needed to get out of this place and find something less painful to do. Some have found freelance positions here in the company to extend their stays a bit, which is good, while others will be moving on. A few are being wrung out til the end, forced to work on a last-minute project that will take them right up to their last days. I still think it�s a pretty crappy thing to do, laying people off right before the holidays, but many are working their way through it, so I guess it�s all going to be ok in the end.

Hopefully, next week, I�ll have some words for y�all on both The Aviator and Ocean�s 12, providing my weekend comes together the way I hope! Also, I�ve always had a sort of a plan for this website, and I hope to put more effort into that in the coming weeks. I�ll let you know closer to if there�s anything to anticipate in that arena.

� 2004 Tigerpants Nation (Rebecca Gross)

12:24 p.m. - 2004-12-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dancingbrave
misterzero
morganzola
blofeld
slippin-m