tigerpants's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dispatch from the Mini-Desk

Today the air conditioning unit right near my new (New! With Less Space!) desk started making a noise. Not an every-once-in-a-while type of noise, but a serious, I�m-not-going-to-knock-this-shit-off-anytime-soon kind of a noise. The charming part of this is that the AC guy had been out just the day before to kindly stop the AC unit from making the bizarre clunky noise it was making, preventing us from hearing anything in a 20-foot radius. So it stopped that noise, but in a fit of pique, took up with this new noise, and they�ve been swinging ever since. The two people who sit directly under the unit put up with it for about a half-hour, but then just went home. It was close enough to the end of the day anyway. I got out my headphones and cranked up the Modern Broadway station on Launch for a bit, but I could only take so much listening without singing. (We haven�t talked about this yet, I don�t think, but I LOVE to sing. It�s a problem. Well, for the people who are listening, anyway.) I finally caved and walked out as well. Today, people, I was defeated by an AC unit. It�s a dark day in the Tigerpants Nation.

Tomorrow, however, is Bagel Thursday at work, and then the weekend features the wedding of my dear friend M, so this is all just a blur until we get to the good stuff. M actually sent me an email today saying that she felt like she was neglecting me. How cute is that? It�s like 5 days before her wedding, and she�s worried she�s neglecting me. Sigh. If only all my admirers were as attentive.

I just realized Bagel Thursday sounds a little trivial. Seriously, don�t mock Bagel Thursday. We get very little monetary love from The Company, so the bagels are serious business. Carb phobic Atkins freaks will find a way to have a bagel every Thursday. It�s free, people. That just can�t be denied. Bagels=love, I like to say. Perhaps that explains the size of my ass.

On a related note, what�s the deal with people digging out the innards of the bagel, toasting, the shell, filling it with flavored cream cheese, and then eating it as though you just won the lottery AND the flashy car in Vegas? How is that good for you? Is this some Atkins thing? Cream cheese is ok, because it�s a protein? Doesn�t cream cheese REALLY closely resemble the crud they pull out of arteries? Man, that whole thing is just wrong. How can you gut a bagel? What did that little bagel ever do to you? It�s like watching some form of Atkins revenge. Damn you, tasty carb! How dare you be so fluffy and carbilicious? I will rip out your guts and put them in the trash where they belong. I will then take your crusty shell and fill it with flavored paste and enjoy it smugly! Ha! Quake at my approach, Bastard Bagel, for carb-filled you will be no longer!

I haven�t been watching the debates. I know. I�m a terrible American. I�ve been at work! At the mini-desk, where they refuse to hook up my cable. There�s nothing sadder than a blank TV, just waiting to bring me news. I feel so disconnected. I already know who I�m voting for, so I�m not a swing voter who could still have her mind made up for her. Not a chance. Just know that I�m voting, and that I expect you to. You don�t have to sit through the debates. Just vote, dammit. Don�t make me come over there.

Can someone please explain to the girl that lives above me that when she chases her puppy around the house after midnight she�s doing so on my roof, and that it�s a tad loud? Man. She�s the complex manager, too.

Have you guys been watching Lost? I�m really enjoying it. It fills the Alias void pretty nicely. I�m not super-pleased with the casting of Matthew Fox, but he�s pretty enough to look at. It would be nice if his �disturbed� face didn�t look so much like his �nauseous� face, but what can you do? And I�m glad to see that his back wound has healed up completely, and has never bled again. That thing looked like it could have been pesky. Crisis narrowly averted there!

Sometimes it�s hard to wrap these things up when you�re not quite done babbling, but really, you are. So, that�s it. Night!

�2004 Tigerpants Nation (Rebecca Gross)

12:53 a.m. - 2004-10-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dancingbrave
misterzero
morganzola
blofeld
slippin-m