tigerpants's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Shopping woes

Shopping ups and downs are the worst. I mean, shopping is the best, right? You go to the store and feel all social, and then you come home with shiny new things! What could be better than that? Right? RIGHT?!!! Ok, it doesn�t always go that way. Sometimes, you don�t come home with shiny new things, no matter how hard you try. Sometimes, your credit card isn�t crying, unless those sparkly tears of disuse count. Which they totally don�t. Bitches.

Seriously, though. I�m not some kind of shopping maniac. I�m not at the stores at the ass-crack of dawn, trying to score the ultimate deal. Naaahhh. Not my style. I�m much more likely to hit the stores after lunch, traipse around for a couple hours, and then head back home. Painless and quick. This method only works for random shopping, though. Goal shopping, which is what I did this past weekend, requires a different technique. Currently, I�m on the hunt for the Perfect Dress to wear to a friend�s wedding. Perfect Dress has a great many ideals to live up to, but I believe it can be done. It must be all these things, AND MORE: not too short, not too long, with proper-sized armholes, decent sleeves (the wedding is in October), the right material, and of course, it must fit. Is this too much to ask of clothing manufacturers? As it turns out - YES. I began my quest at the beginning of the summer, though I was not in earnest til last weekend. Because I am both short-waisted and fat, dresses refuse to fit me. They take a firm stand against me, even. It�s very unkind, and I secretly suspect that they discuss this when I�m not there, plotting new methods of snugness and bagginess, conspiring to be both too long and too tight all at the same time. It�s truly a sight to see.

When I renewed my search this weekend, I held out faint hope that a Perfect Dress would appear. I didn�t believe. I had lost faith in the Shopping. I assumed my quest would take months of my life I could never recover. Apparently, I was wrong. I found my Perfect Dress this weekend, in a mall I rarely frequent. It�s a smaller size than I thought it would need to be, which was refreshing. It�s a lovely color, a lovely fabric, it fits quite nicely, and it was just over $100 off, which really makes it perfect. So why am I still whining? What the hell is my problem, you ask? Well, here it is. I mentioned that it was a smaller size. You caught that, right? So that smaller size puts me between departments. Meaning, I�m too skinny for the Plus Size area, and too fat for the Regular size area. Because heaven forbid we should have fat ladies roaming through our Regular section like a herd of buffalo in search of their next graze. I mean, is it too much to ask to just make clothing to FIT EVERYBODY. And EVERY BODY? IS THAT SO WRONG?????

But I digress.

Anyway, I did find a dress this weekend, that matches shoes I already have, and for a great price. I will, of course, keep an eye out for something even better, because that�s what I do, but this quest can officially be ended. Sigh. Fortunately, I still have a need for flat tan slides that are not flip-flops. Tan Slide Quest 2004 here I come!

� 2004 Tigerpants Nation

11:55 a.m. - 2004-08-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dancingbrave
misterzero
morganzola
blofeld
slippin-m